ButterNut Funk

From £4.00

ButterNut Funk

From £4.00

Uptight. Awkward. Funky as HELL.

12 funky drum song song slices at 115bpm – verses, choruses, breakdowns… and more

SKU: N/A Category:

ButterNut Funk – Movable Funky Drums Song Slices

(These previews are low quality versions of the Butternut Funky Drums Song Slices pack).

Dry, Tight & Jerky

Butternut Funk is very loosely based on an early 80’s Prince track.

He played his own drums on the early stuff, and he was a phenomenal drummer with a crazy feel. Less laid back and groovy, more jerky and awkward – “uptight” is probably how we’d describe it.

We locked ourselves in The Beat Shed one night and went about getting a similar feel, with a dry, tight, dead drum sound in homage to these great early tracks. Butternut Funk is the result of that session…

Tambo, Shaker & Congas

We also put down some percussion for certain sections of this funky drums Song Slice pack just to really set it off and make it bounce and swing.

Tambo and shaker are on their own dedicated tracks. Congas were recorded on 2 tracks – both near and far for blending.

For more details and information about the Butternut Funky Drums Song Pack, please read the article about the planning, recording and production.

Available in the usual Beat Shed packages

Mixes – Beats that have been lovingly mixed and treated ready for you to use. They come as CD quality (16 bit, 44.1khz ) stereo WAV files. All the audio you can hear in the previews are included as separate sections.

Multi-tracks – Dry, unmixed, individual audio files of each and every channel. They come as high resolution WAV files (24 bit, 44.1khz). All the audio you can hear in the previews are included as separate sections.

For more information about the packages and how they work, have a look at About The Beat Shed or the WTF page.


Package Type: Song Pack

Tempo: 115 BPM

Time signature: 4/4

Arrangement sections: 12

Genre/style: Funk/Soul/R&B

Total Duration: 3 minutes, 52 seconds

FX: Various – Light reverb, compression

  • Intro
  • Verse 1
  • Chorus 1
  • Breakdown 1
  • Verse 2
  • Chorus 2
  • Middle
  • Breakdown 2
  • Verse 3
  • Chorus 3
  • Outro
  • Final Hit

Channels: 17 (available as Multi-tracks)

  • Kick Inside
  • Kick Outside
  • Kick Sub
  • Under Snare
  • Over Snare
  • Hats
  • Rack Tom
  • Floor Tom
  • Overhead Left
  • Overhead Right
  • Overhead Ribbon
  • Room Valve – Large Diaphragm Condenser
  • Room Stereo
  • Tambourine
  • Shaker
  • Congas Close
  • Congas Far

Files included in the packages

Mixes: 13 WAV files (Stereo 16bit, 44.1 khz) – all arrangement sections PLUS complete song

Multi-tracks: 195 WAV files (24bit, 44.1kz) – all arrangement sections PLUS complete song.


You can also download the Spec Sheet here.
Any questions? Drop us a line.


Happy Shedding!

This Song Pack has siblings!

Butternut Funk has an associated Sample Pack with the same feel and setup. It’s called “Tight Funky Kit”. Really handy if you need extra hits to use with this Song Pack.

Funky Drums Bundle

We also offer three FUNKY packs as a bundle at a 25% discount.


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.